Presidential Transition Committee

A Presidential Transition Committee has been established to develop and implement a transition plan to help President-Designate Joan Gabel expeditiously gain an understanding of the University of Minnesota system, develop key internal and external relationships, and prepare to assume the presidency. The committee is also responsible for coordinating events and opportunities to celebrate the service of President Eric Kaler and Karen Kaler.

Committee Members

  • Regent Richard Beeson, co-chair

  • Matt Kramer, co-chair, Vice President for Government and University Relations

  • Brian Burnett, Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations

  • Lori Carrell, Chancellor, University of Minnesota Rochester

  • Karen Hanson, Executive Vice President and Provost

  • Lisa Lewis, President & CEO, University of Minnesota Alumni Association

  • Amy Pittenger, Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems, and Director of Interprofessional Education and Pharmacy Learning Collaborative, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy

  • Kathy Schmidlkofer, President & CEO, University of Minnesota Foundation

  • Brian Steeves, Executive Director and Corporate Secretary, Board of Regents

  • Rajiv Vaidyanathan, Professor and Department Head, Marketing, Labovitz School of Business & Economics, University of Minnesota Duluth